25
Dec
09

My Architect: A Son’s Jouney

My Architect: A Son’s Journey is a 2003 documentary film about the American architect Louis Kahn. Kahn led an extraordinary career and left three families behind when he died of a heart attack in a Penn Station bathroom.

One of his most memorable quotes is “When I went to high school, I had a teacher in the arts, who was head of the department of Central High, William Grey, and he gave me a course in Architecture, the only course in the high school I am sure, in Greek, Roman, Renaissance, Egyptian, and Gothic Architecture, and at that point two of my colleagues and I realized that only Architecture was to be my life, and how accidental our existences are, really, and how full of influence by circumstance.” Louis I. Kahn, quote from the documentary film “My Architect, A Son’s Journey” a film by his son Nathaniel Kahn.

The film was made by Louis Kahn’s illegitimate son Nathaniel Kahn, and features interviews with many giants of modern architecture, including I.M. Pei, Anne Tyng and Philip Johnson. Throughout the film, Kahn visits all of his father’s buildings including Yale Center for British Art, Jatiyo Sangshad Bhaban and the Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad.

http://www.myarchitectfilm.com/
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0373175/

0 Responses to “My Architect: A Son’s Jouney”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

